Why Great Marketers Must Be Great Skeptics презентация

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This Presentation Is Online Here: bit.ly/mozskeptics

Слайд 1Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
Why Great

Marketers
Must Be Great Skeptics

Слайд 2This Presentation Is Online Here:
bit.ly/mozskeptics


Слайд 3Great Skepticism
Defining


Слайд 4
I have some depressing news…


Слайд 7
Does anyone in this room believe that the Earth doesn’t revolve

around the Sun?

Слайд 9The Earth (and everything in the solar system, including the Sun)

revolves around our system’s gravitational Barycenter, which is only sometimes near the center of the Sun.

Слайд 10
Let’s try a more
marketing-centric example...


Слайд 11In 2009, Conversion Rate Experts built us a new landing page,

and increased our subscribers by nearly 25%. What did they do?

Via CRE’s Case Study


Слайд 12One of the most commonly cited facts about CRE’s work is

the “long landing page.”

Слайд 13The Crap Skeptic
The Good Skeptic
The Great Skeptic
Let’s change our landing page

to be a long one right now!

We should A/B test a long landing page in our conversion funnel.

How do we know page length was responsible? What else changed?


Слайд 14The Crap Skeptic
The Good Skeptic
The Great Skeptic
“I do believe sadly it’s

going to take some diseases coming back to realize that we need to change and develop vaccines that are safe.”

“Listen, all magic is scientific principals presented like "mystical hoodoo" which is fun, but it's sort of irresponsible.”

"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it." 


Слайд 15In fact, we’ve changed our landing pages numerous times to shorter

versions and seen equal success. Length, it would seem, was not the primary factor in this page’s success.

Слайд 16
What separates the crap, good, & great?


Слайд 17
Assumes one belief-reinforcing data point is evidence enough
Doesn’t question what’s truly

causal vs. merely correlated

Doesn’t seek to validate


Слайд 18
Doesn’t make assumptions about why a result occurred
Knows that correlation isn’t

necessarily causal

Validates assumptions w/ data


Слайд 19
Seeks to discover the reasons underlying the results
Knows that correlation
doesn’t imply

causality

Thoroughly validates, but doesn’t let imperfect knowledge stop progress


Слайд 20Will more conversion tests lead to better results?
Testing


Слайд 21
Obviously the more tests we run, the better we can optimize

our pages. We need to build a “culture of testing” around here.

Слайд 22Via Wordstream’s What is a Good Conversion Rate?


Слайд 23Via Wordstream’s What is a Good Conversion Rate?
Do Those Who Test

More Really Perform Better?

Слайд 24
Hmm… There’s no correlation between those who run more tests across

more pages and those who have higher conversion rates. Maybe the number of tests isn’t the right goal.

Слайд 25Via Factors That Drive How Quickly You Can Run New Online

Tests

Слайд 26Trust
Word of Mouth
Likability
Design
Associations
Word of Mouth
Amount of Pain
CTAs
UX
Effort Required
Process
Historical Experiences
Social Proof
Copywriting
CONVERSION DECISION
Timing
Discovery

Path

Branding

Price

(it’s a complex process)


Слайд 27
How do we know where our
conversion problems lie?


Слайд 28Ask Smart Questions to the Right People
Potential Customers Who Didn’t Buy
Those

Who Tried/Bought But Didn’t Love It

Customers Who Bought & Loved It

Professional, demographic, & psychographic characteristics

Professional, demographic, & psychographic characteristics

Professional, demographic, & psychographic characteristics

What objections did you have to buying?

What objections did you have; how did you overcome them?

What objections did you overcome; how?

What would have made you stay/love the product?

What would have made you overcome them?

What do you love most? Can we share?


Слайд 29
We can start by targeting the right kinds of customers. Trying

to please everyone is a recipe for disaster.

Слайд 30
Our tests should be focused around overcoming the objections of the

people who best match our customer profiles

Слайд 31Testing button colors


Слайд 32Testing headlines, copy, visuals, & form fields


Слайд 33Designing for how customers think about their problems & your solution


Слайд 35Does telling users we encrypt data scare them?
Security


Слайд 36Via Visual Website Optimizer
Could this actually HURT conversion?


Слайд 37Via Visual Website Optimizer


Слайд 38Via Visual Website Optimizer
A/B Test Results

They found that without the secure

icon had over 400% improvement on conversions as compared to having the image.

[Note: results ARE statistically significant]

Слайд 39
We need to remove the security messages on our site ASAP!


Слайд 40
We should test this.


Слайд 41
Is this the most meaningful test we can perform right now?
(I’m

not saying it isn’t, just that we should prioritize intelligently)

Слайд 42Via Kayak’s Most Interesting A/B Test
vs.


Слайд 43Via Kayak’s Most Interesting A/B Test

A/B Test Results

“So we decided to

do our own experiment about this and we actually found the opposite that when we removed the messaging, people tended to book less.”

- Vinayak Ranade, Director of Engineering for Mobile, KAYAK

Слайд 44
Good thing we tested!
Good thing we tested!
Your evidence is no match

for my ignorance!

Слайд 45What should we expect from sharing our content on social media?
Social

CTR

Слайд 46
Just find the average social CTRs and then try to match

them or do better. No brainer.

Слайд 47Via Signup.to’s Analysis of CTR on Twitter


Слайд 48Via Signup.to’s Analysis of CTR on Twitter


Слайд 51306/701 = 43.6%... WTF??


Слайд 53Phew! We’re not alone.
Via Chartbeat


Слайд 54
Assuming social metrics and engagement correlate was a flawed assumption. We

need to find a better way to measure and improve social sharing.

Слайд 58
OK. We can create some benchmarks based on these numbers and

their averages, then work to improve them over time.

Слайд 59That is an insane amount of variability!


Слайд 60
There are other factors at work here. We need to understand

them before we can create smart metrics or useful expectations

Слайд 61
Timing
Source
Audience Affinity
Formatting
Network-Created Limitations to Visibility
Brand
Reach
Traffic
Engagement


Слайд 62
Let’s start by examining the data and impacts of timing.


Слайд 63Via Facebook Insights


Слайд 64Via Followerwonk


Слайд 65Via Google Analytics


Слайд 66
There’s a lot of nuance, but we can certainly see how

messages sent at certain times reach different sizes and populations of our audience.

Слайд 67
Comparing a tweet or share sent at 9am Pacific against tweets

and shares sent at 11pm Pacific will give us misleading data.

Слайд 68
But, we now know three things:
#1 - When our audience is

online

#2 – Sharing just once is suboptimal

#3 – To be a great skeptic (and marketer), we should attempt to understand each of these inputs with similar rigorousness


Слайд 69Do they work? Can we make them more effective?
Share Buttons


Слайд 70
After relentless testing, OKTrends found that the following share buttons worked

best:

Слайд 73OKTrends found that removing all but a single button (the “like”

on Facebook) had the most positive effect.

Слайд 74And that waiting until the visitor had scrolled to the bottom

of the article produced the highest number of actions

Слайд 75
We should remove all our social sharing buttons and replace them

with a single slide-over social CTA for Facebook likes!

Слайд 76Buzzfeed has also done a tremendous amount of social button testing

& optimization…

Слайд 77And sometimes they do this…


Слайд 78And sometimes this…


Слайд 79
Is Buzzfeed still in testing mode?


Слайд 80
Nope.
They’ve found it’s best to show different buttons based on both

the type of content and how you reached the site.

Слайд 81
OK… Well, then let’s do that… Do it now!


Слайд 82
Testing a small number of the most impactful social button changes

should produce enough evidence to give us a direction to pursue.

Слайд 83
Buzzfeed & OKTrends share several unique qualities:
They have huge amounts of

social traffic
Social shares are integral to their business model
The content they create is optimized for social sharing

Слайд 84
Unless we also fit a number of these criteria, I have

to ask again: Is this the most meaningful test we can perform right now?

Слайд 85
BTW – it is true that testing social buttons can coincide

with a lot of other tests (since it’s on content vs. the funnel), but dev resources and marketing bandwidth probably are not infinite ☺

Слайд 86Does it still work better than standard link text?
Anchor Text


Слайд 87
Psh. Anchor text links obviously work. Otherwise Google wouldn’t be penalizing

all these sites for getting them.

Слайд 88
It has been a while since we’ve seen a public test

of anchor text. And there’s no way to know for sure how powerful it still is.

Слайд 89
Testing in Google is very, very hard. There’s so many confounding

variables – we’d have to choose our criteria carefully and repeat the test multiple times to feel confident of any result.

Слайд 90
1) Three word, informational keyword phrase with relatively light competition and

stable rankings

Test Conditions:

2) We selected two results (“A” and “B”), ranking #13 (“A”) and #20 ( “B”) in logged-out, non-personalized results

3) We pointed links from 20 pages on 20 unique, high-DA, high-trust, off-topic sites at both “A” and “B”


Слайд 91A) We pointed 20 links from 20 domains at this result

with anchor text exactly matching the query phrase

#11

#12

#13

#14

#15

#16

#17

#18

#19

#20

B) We pointed 20 links from the same 20 pages as “A” to this URL with anchor text that did not contain any words in the query


Слайд 92#11
#12
#13
#14
#15
#16
#17
#18
#19
#20
#1
#2
#3
#4
#5
#6
#7
#8
#9
#10
After 20 days, all of the links had been indexed by

Google. “A” and “B” both moved up 4 positions. None of the other results moved more than 2 positions.

Слайд 93
See? Told you it works.


Слайд 94
While both results moved up the same number of positions, it’s

almost certainly the case that #13 to #9 was against more serious challengers, and thus anchor text would seem to make a difference. That said, I’d want to repeat this a few times.

Слайд 95
Princess Bubblegum and I are in agreement. We should do the

test at least 2-3 more times keeping as many variables as possible the same.

Слайд 96
1) Three word, informational keyword phrase with relatively light competition and

stable rankings

Early Results from a Second Test:

2) We selected two results (“A” and “B”), ranking #20 (“A”) and #14 ( “B”) in logged-out, non-personalized results

3) We pointed links from 20 pages on 20 unique, high-DA, high-trust, off-topic sites at both “A” and “B”


Слайд 97B) We pointed 20 links from 20 domains to this URL

with anchor text that did not contain any words in the query

#11

#12

#13

#14

#15

#16

#17

#18

#19

#20

A) We pointed 20 links from the same pages/domains at this result with anchor text exactly matching the query phrase


Слайд 98#11
#12
#13
#14
#15
#16
#17
#18
#19
#20
#1
#2
#3
#4
#5
#6
#7
#8
#9
#10
After 16 days, all of the links had been indexed by

Google. “A” moved up 19 positions to #1! B moved up 5 positions to #9. None of the other results moved more than 2 positions.

Слайд 99
Good thing we tested!
This is looking more conclusive, but we should

run at least one more test.

Anchor text = rankings. Stick a fork in it!


Слайд 100Does it influence Google’s non-personalized search rankings?
Google+


Слайд 101Good discussion about Google+ correlations in this post
Google+ is just too

damn high.

Слайд 102Good discussion about Google+ correlations in this post
From a comment Matt

Cutts left on the blog post:
“Most of the initial discussion on this thread seemed to take from the blog post the idea that more Google +1s led to higher web ranking. I wanted to preemptively tackle that perception.”

Слайд 103Good discussion about Google+ correlations in this post
To me, that’s Google

working really hard to NOT say “we don’t use any data from Google+ (directly or indirectly) at all in our ranking algorithms.” I would be very surprised if they said that.

Слайд 104
Google explicitly SAID +1s don’t affect rankings. You think they’d lie

so blatantly? As if.

Слайд 105
The correlations are surprisingly high for something with no connection. There

have been several tests showing no result, but if all it takes is a Google+ post, let’s do it!

Слайд 106
First, remember how hard it is to prove causality with a

public test like this. And second, don’t let anything but consistent, repeatable, provable results sway your opinion.

Слайд 108#21
#22
#23
#24
#25
#26
At 10:50am, the test URL ranked #26 in logged-out, non-personalized, non-geo-biased,

Google US results.

Слайд 10942 minutes later, after ~30 shares, 40 +1s, and several other

G+ accounts posting the link, the target moved up to position #23

#21

#22

#23

#24

#25

#26


Слайд 110#21
#22
#23
#24
#25
#26
48 hours later, after 100 shares of the post, 95 +1s,

and tons of additional posts, the result was back down to #25

Слайд 111At least we proved one thing – the Google+ community is

awesome. Nearly 50 people shared the URL in their own posts on G+!

Слайд 112Many G+ users personalized results, however, were clearly affected.


Слайд 113#21
#22
#23
#24
#25
#26
#27
#28
#29
#30
Something very strange is happening in relation to the test URL

in my personalized results, though. It’s actually ranking LOWER than in non-personalized results.

Слайд 114
Could Google be donking up the test?
Sadly, it’s impossible to know.


Слайд 115
GASP!!! The posts did move the result up, then someone from

Google must have seen it and is messing with you!!!

Слайд 116
Sigh… It’s possible that Jenny’s right, but impossible to prove. We

don’t know for sure what caused the initial movement, nor can we say what’s causing the weird personalized results.

Слайд 117
More testing is needed, but how you do it without any

potential monkey wrenches is going to be a big challenge.

That said, remember this:

Слайд 118Phew! We’re not alone.
Via Chartbeat


Слайд 119
If I were Google, I wouldn’t use Google+ activity by itself

to rank anything, but I would connect G+ to my other data sources and potentially increase a page’s rankings if many pieces of data told a story of engagement & value for visitors.

Слайд 120
Ready to Be Your Own Skeptic?


Слайд 121Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
bit.ly/mozskeptics


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